August Updates, Reader Poll, What I’m Reading, and More

Author Note: Jump to the bottom if you would like the brief overview. Also this post will also be found on LASL, almost word-for-word so no need to read in both places.

Chapter Updates:

The first arc of La Vita Bella is complete. You can read chapters here. I would love to hear your thoughts about the first part (if you’re caught up) – overall general mood/tone of the story, Bella’s character and personality, the people that flow in and out of her life, and any additional questions you might have or predictions for the future. You can answer/ask me here or over on the forums. 🙂

I am also coming to a close of the first arc of Darkness May Dream. I’ve been binge writing chapters, amping up for an intense conclusion, if you’re caught up and can tell. You can catch up on chapters here, read updated character bios here, and read my author notes… er…dark musings here.

Announcements:

Reap No More (RNM) is coming soon to my DMD simblr. This will include tales and myths from the DMD universe. I plan to write these stories in a neighborhood-rotation style exclusively on my Simblr. I am curious about what kinds of stories you would like to hear, and who, in particular, you would like me to follow. Please take a few minutes to vote in the poll:

Since I’m consistently retconning and improving my writing (I hope), I have decided DMD is set in an alternate universe… a dark universe… so it stands alone from my other Sim stories (i.e. KFMS, FRWL, CFT, LFL, etc.). This brings me to my next announcement…

Stories from the Dark (Sims) Universe

Introducing my new WP… Stories from the Dark Universe (SFDU) – a collection of fractured fairy tales told in the Sims universe. You can visit the new site here – https://darkuniversesims.wordpress.com/.

…and just when you think I could not possibly start any more stories… in my defense, this is a move/revamp of an existing story…the Secret Identity of Jessica Rossum (SIJR).

On this site, I will revamp my SIJR story. I have already moved the first chapter so you can re-read it or you can read it for the first time… or ignore it if you don’t want to reread it. I’m planning a reverse legacy, starting with the last “heir” so to speak, and working backwards while interweaving Jess’ story. This will follow a Disney-esque legacy challenge style. Jess will also have a connection to a character from the DMD universe… yet to be named in public. 😉

I will also make Generation 2 of my DMD story available in WP form on this particular WP as the stories are set in the same universe. That’s for all you DMD fans who asked for a WP version in addition to the Simblr. That also means the DMD chapter list will be moving from my LASL site to its new home on SFDU. The DMD chapter list will remain on LASL until Gen 1 is complete. In the meantime, DMD has an updated characters post on SFDU.

What I’m Reading:

I wish I was actually reading on a beach in the pale violet twilight, but unfortunately, I’m a bit land-locked here. So my Simself will indulge…

Recently I finished binge reading @friendsfan367’s The Benders. Something I love about friendsfan’s The Benders is how refreshingly aware they are, and how she manages to capture each Sim’s unique personality in short, but powerful lines.

I also finished @swcheppes’ Super Dating recently for my reading circle, and I have to say I love the comic book connections and the writer’s narrative style. Totally worth a binge.

I was thinking about adult summer camps, and decided to check out @CathyTea’s Summer Camp stories at her suggestion. The idea is awesome and I plan… maybe… some day… so shouldn’t start another story... to do some kind of summer camp story myself. Readers, would you prefer a TS3 setting, TS4 setting, or both? Right now, the thought is an adult summer/early fall-ish painting camp in Riverview with Gage Briody. This story would be featured on my LASL blog or LASL Simblr. Preferences? And you would be able to send me your Sims. (Note: I do not have any TS4 expansion packs).

I’ve also been reading Memoir Me, following the lovely TS4 Kim sisters as they process the death of their father. The chapters are short, but sweet, and the writing is evocative.

The Long Short:

Okay, brief synopsis in case you don’t actually want to read everything or need to review what you read when you’re done:

  • La Vita Bella arc one is complete
  • DMD Gen 1 is coming to an end. More chapters available on https://darknessmaydream-simblr.tumblr.com/. 
  • Reap No More is a new series coming to my DMD Simblr. Vote in the poll above so you can tell me who you would like to see featured.
  • The Secret Identity of Jessica Rossum (SIJR) is moving to its new home on my new WordPress for my alternate dark universe… Stories from the Dark Universe (SFDU).
  • DMD Gen 1’s table of contents will be moving to SFDU, but will remain on LASL during the transition from Gen 1 to Gen 2.
  • SIJR is getting a makeover, and will be a reverse Disney legacy challenge featuring all kinds of Disney heroines.
  • DMD is set in the dark universe, along with SIJR.
  • DMD Gen 2 chapters will be available on SFDU for my WP readers.
  • Read The Bendersit’s bendy fun… okay… trying to be clever and it sounds terrible  – it’s awesome!
  • Read Super Dating – it’s super!
  • Read Summer Camp – it’s camp-tastic...*face palm* I’m so done with being cheesy
  • Read Memoir Me – it’s memorable.
  • Interested in an adult summer-camp story for TS3 or TS4 on either my LASL WP or LASL Simblr? Let me know.
  • Thanks for reading. 🙂
One thought on “August Updates, Reader Poll, What I’m Reading, and More”

Commenters rock! Write on.

