A Little More Sunshine and Updates

Hi readers,

I have not forgotten you. Or Kass. I promise. I’ve been busy adjusting to my new job and plugging away through grad school. I’ve also been binge writing Colt Family Traitacy and trying to get From Riverview With Love up to speed.

There are some plot bunnies coming in Kass’s story, but first, I wanted to tie up loose ends and write about what happened in between KCKLF and KFLL in Kass’s and Gage’s worlds. And I know I’ve been saying this for awhile, so I don’t want to just write “soon,” so I’m going to say I’ll be updating Kass’s story in some way, shape, or form in September.

Also I am horribly overdue on this. Thank you Mastress Alita of Sim Stories and JLBDreams of Dreaming Sims for nominating Kass’s story for the Sunshine Blogger Award. I feel so honored to be nominated twice (thrice, since the Colt Family Traitacy was nominated over on LASL). It’s a wonderful feeling logging into WordPress knowing that readers all over the world are enjoying my stories and investing in my stories and reading my stories. I am truly blessed as a SimLit writer to belong to such a wonderful community.

The rules for accepting this award are as follows:

  • Thank the person who nominated you and add a link to their blog.
  • Answer the 11 questions sent by the person who nominated you.
  • Nominate 11 bloggers and add their links.
  • Notify the bloggers you include.
  • Keep the rules in your post.

Questions from Mastress Alita: nomination link here.

1. What is the first Sims game you played?  TS3
2. Favorite expansion/stuff pack/game pack? Seasons
3. What is your favorite book or author? Too many to choose. I do love Joanna Fluke’s Hannah Swensen Mysteries and Thrillers.
4. What is your favorite fictional genre? crime/mystery
5. Is there a song that always brings you to tears? Debussy’s Clare de Lune
6. What is your favorite vacation destination? mountains
7. Pick your poison (what is your drink of choice?) piña colada
8. Let’s play kiss, marry, kill, only with your Sims! (That is, of your Sims, which one would you most like to kiss, which one would you most like to marry, and which one would you most like to kill?) Hmm… that’s a tough one too… kill? hands-down probably Max Racket of the Colt Family Traitacy (because he’s evil). Kiss? Not going to lie… probably Brendon Shore or Gage Briody. Marry? I’d say my Sim-spouse, but he really hasn’t made an appearance in anything of mine yet. If he didn’t have so many issues (mostly with family), I do have a thing for Dennis Racket. I think he’s had it pretty rough.
9. What are five hobbies you enjoy? Singing, writing, reading, cooking, baking
10. What is your favorite fictional creature? Appa from Avatar: the Last Airbender
11. Against a zombie, what would be your weapon of choice? Any weapon? How about a lightsaber?

Questions from JLBDreams16: Nomination link here.

  1. Is writing just a hobby or do you want to make it a career? I love writing. I wouldn’t mind writing for a job. I already do somewhat.
  2. Which writers inspire you? There are way too many to list here… Shakespeare, Tolkein, C.S. Lewis, Jane Austen, Norton Juster, Lucy Maud Montgomery, Laura Ingalls Wilder, Jan Karon, Agatha Christie, Arthur Conan Doyle, Joanna Fluke, Rex Stout, Catherine Coulter, Daphne DeMaurier…. I could go on…
  3. So, what have you written? I’ve been writing poetry and short stories since I was five. I have many half-finished short stories from high school. I have a bunch of completed short stories for SimLit and I’m in the process of writing 5 stories actively, I have one completed story, and 3 inactive. I also have two novels I’m working on  – one is a historical fantasy and is almost finished and the other is a sci-fi story and is basically in outline format right now.
  4. What genre do you like writing the most? What draws you to this genre? This is a tough one because it’s a toss-up between sci-fi, fantasy, and crime/mystery. I love mysteries because I love the puzzle of trying to figure things out. I like science fiction and fantasy because exploring space, the unknown, the supernatural, fantastical, etc has always fascinated me and I love a good adventure. I also like how we can safely talk about and explore real-world issues deeply under the guise of an alternate world. I like using fiction in general to explore mine and other’s thoughts, emotions, concerns, concepts, beliefs, and views.
  5. Do you read much and if so who are your favorite authors? This answer is going to be similar to #2.
  6. For your own reading, do you prefer ebooks or traditional paper/hard back books? Traditional paper/hard back books.
  7. What book/s are you reading at present? Nameless by A.C. Williams; The Language Construction Kit by Mark Rosenfelder.
  8. What is your favourite movie and why? Tough questions…
  9. When do you write? Anytime, but I am a night owl and do my best writing between 10 PM – 3 AM.
  10. Who is your favorite Simlit Author and why? Oh wow! That’s a hard one too… I have many favorites. I swear I’m not trying to be a cop-out. I just would have to think really hard about who my favorite SimLit authors are.
  11. What advice would you give to aspiring writers of SimlitHave fun with it, but don’t be afraid to take it seriously. Stick to a schedule you can manage. Engage in the community because that’s the best way to read, learn, improve, gain readers, and make friends.

My nominations are as follows: (And I feel like everyone’s already been nominated for this award so it’s incredibly difficult to hunt and find 11 people who haven’t been nominated yet. I’m nominating stories I am following and reading currently and I haven’t nominated in my other award [see here]. If you’ve been nominated before now, you’re getting the nominated again, although feel free to write your answers below in comment form instead of posting brand new if you’d like – and I’m borrowing that idea from Mastress Alita).

My questions to my nominees are as follows in no particular order: 

  1. Eight Cicadas 
  2. (Para) Normal Neighborhood
  3. Racket-Rotter Chronicles 
  4. Surreal Darkness
  5. The Amari Family 
  6. The Centauri Legacy
  7. The Chrysanthemum Tango
  8. The Last 100 Years
  9. The Torres Legacy
  10. Thirty Sims at Three Rivers
  11. Unexpected Turn

My questions to my nominees are as follows: 

  1. If you were going to live forever, how would you spend your life?
  2. What’s your favorite TS3 supernatural and why?
  3. Who is your favorite SimLit couple and why?
  4. What’s your favorite Sims world and why?
  5. If you could travel through space, what would be your vessel of choice?
  6. What is currently on your reading list?
  7. Do you listen to music when you write SimLit, and if so, what?
  8. What SimLit character do you find most inspirational?
  9. What culture would you like to learn more about and why?
  10. What was your happiest/saddest/sappiest Sims game moment?
  11. What’s the hardest thing about writing SimLit and how do you get past it?
19 thoughts on “A Little More Sunshine and Updates”

  1. Thank you for the nomination. I’ve already been nominated so I’ll answer your questions in comments. I hope I’m doing this right (posting in the right comments) since I’m kinda dozing off.

    Answers:

    1. If you were going to live forever, how would you spend your life? Honestly…I’d spend my life trying to end the foreverness. No one is meant to live forever because it would be a very lonely life. Now if I could choose someone to live forever with me it would be a totally different answer. I wouldn’t be able to live without my husband.

    2. What’s your favorite TS3 supernatural and why?
    Ohhh. I can’t pick! I love the mermaids because I’m a total mermaid IRL. But I love fairies because they’re mischievous and I love fairy parties in the little houses. I also love witches because the spells are cool.

    3. Who is your favorite SimLit couple and why?
    This is hard for me to decide because I have too many…I’m a hopeless romantic.
    My first favorite couple is Rose Sager and Johnny Zest (Landgraab for story sake). Rose was from my first ever TS4 simlit and they loved each other deeply back then…and they always find their way back to each other in each save so I take that as a sign they’re meant to be.
    My second favorite couple is Bianca Pruett and Giancarlo Sheridan from Jes2G’s Pruett Legacy. I love their dynamic, and I have them running around in my saves and they are the sweetest couple despite Bianca’s mean trait.
    My third favorite couple is tied between Ana and Mitchell, and their daughter and daughter’s spouse. They’re both different in terms of dynamic but both of the woman are completely strong and independent and the spouses are react to it in different ways.
    Fourth, and most currently, I love Odette Darling and spouse number 6 from my unpublished/soon-to-be published Black Widow story. They’re both evil, and clicked well together. She was completely devastated when he died. (not spoiler considering the challenge is to kill spouses lol)

    4. What’s your favorite Sims world and why?
    Depends on my mood tbh. It’s why I have a hard time playing TS3…I can’t settle on a world because I love them all. Some days I’m feeling Isla Paradiso…whereas other days I’m feeling Midnight Hollow.

    5. If you could travel through space, what would be your vessel of choice?
    The TARDIS.

    6. What is currently on your reading list?
    Books? Or SimLit? If books, then nothing…As for SimLit, everything in my reading circles.

    7. Do you listen to music when you write SimLit, and if so, what?
    Sure do. I listen to anything that would get me in a certain mood for what I’m writing. When I write drama or dark, I prefer classical (IE. Mozart, Vivaldi, Tchaikovsky, Beethoven) or hard rock.
    When writing fluff and happy stuff, I tend to listen to folk rock/indie.

    8. What SimLit character do you find most inspirational? No idea. I’ve read so much that it’s hard to keep up with all these characters.
    I can’t even pick one from my SimLit because I put them in these scenarios and I know the outcomes.

    9. What culture would you like to learn more about and why?
    Scandinavian culture because I just recently found out that I’m Scandinavian via DNA testing. I know the rest of my heritages’ culture except for the Scandinavian.

    10. What was your happiest/saddest/sappiest Sims game moment?
    The saddest moment is tied:
    First, when my legacy co-founder died. I cried because it was my real first death by old age.
    Last: When my black widow had to kill spouse 6. I’ve never heard a sim sob so hard over a death before. My heart broke for Odette, and I just wanted to exit without saving and let spouse 6 live forever.

    11. What’s the hardest thing about writing SimLit and how do you get past it?
    Being consistent! I’ve just let it go and post when I get the inspiration. When I put myself on a schedule I refuse it and rebel and it messes everything up. I find I have more fun when I’m not forcing myself to update.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for responding. I know the feeling about picking a favorite world. That’s part of my problem with TS3 too. I thought your answer to #10 was most intriguing. I haven’t tried a black widow challenge yet, but it sounds interesting. I love classical music too… although I listen to indie also when writing.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh my goodness. Haha I had no idea you nominated me. I’ll add you to the post. Thank you though!! I’ll answer your questions here 🙂

    If you were going to live forever, how would you spend your life?

    Traveling around the world to take photos! Photography is my hobby 🙂

    What’s your favorite TS3 supernatural and why?

    The werewolf lol! Just thought they were cool 😛

    Who is your favorite SimLit couple and why?

    Wow that’s a tough one. I would say Tobi and Colette from Ashes to Ashes legacy. 🙂

    What’s your favorite Sims world and why?
    Hahah definitely PleasentView from the Sims2. I love playing with the twins family.

    If you could travel through space, what would be your vessel of choice?
    The Millennium Falcon

    What is currently on your reading list?
    If it’s books, Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard. Love the book!

    Do you listen to music when you write SimLit, and if so, what?
    Not really. My thoughts get really distracted if I do.

    What SimLit character do you find most inspirational?
    I don’t think I’ve got one at the moment. Oops.

    What culture would you like to learn more about and why?
    Japanese I guess? Lol! First one that came to mind.

    What was your happiest/saddest/sappiest Sims game moment?
    Whenever one of my sims couple get married/proposed. The look on their faces are adorable.

    What’s the hardest thing about writing SimLit and how do you get past it?
    When I get stuck, with no ideas. Showers help though. Lol!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Really? I thought I notified you on your blog…. Yay another Millennium Falcon fan! I also like the werewolf. 🙂 The Sims are adorable when they are getting proposed to or married. I’ve heard of the Red Queen, but I haven’t read it yet. It’s on my reading list.

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Hi. I’ll be answering questions here and adding them to my sunshine post:

    If you were going to live forever, how would you spend your life?
    I’d travel the world living in different places for a few decades at a time while studying the wildlife and soaking up the local cultures.

    What’s your favorite TS3 supernatural and why?

    I love the Fairies since I just love Fae in general and I don’t get to play a game with them often. I’d say second is the mermaids for a similar reason. While I do enjoy all the supernaturals and play them all those are my top two.

    Who is your favorite SimLit couple and why?

    If I’m choosing one not my own I’d say I love Melanie and Lucas from CititzenErased14 Dust to Dust.

    What’s your favorite Sims world and why?

    I like the animal/farmland feel to Appalousa Plains in Sims 3 but I also like the islands of the Island Paradise world. I prefer open worlds so I’m not too impressed by the Sims 4.

    If you could travel through space, what would be your vessel of choice?

    The TARDIS.

    What is currently on your reading list?

    A couple of Star Wars books, a Mercades Lackey book and some comics and light novels. There is a mystery book too that looked interesting I may add.

    Do you listen to music when you write SimLit, and if so, what?

    It depends. Sometimes I want a mood and music helps but others I want quiet.

    What SimLit character do you find most inspirational?

    Other than Lucas I really loved A Splash of Color by Berry Pie’s character Merlot. I won’t give detail since as the story unfolds you learn so much. Its such a good story.

    What culture would you like to learn more about and why?

    I guess I’d love to learn more about German culture since it is in my heritage but I know so little about it.

    What was your happiest/saddest/sappiest Sims game moment?

    If you mean autonomous I guess my favorite happiest/sappiest are autonomous proposals. My favorites (I have 3 I’d say equally I love) of these would give spoilers for stories so I’m not giving them. I will say visiting my Vampiracy file does give me warm fuzzies because of how devoted Erica and Vlad are with their romantic interactions. Saddest I think are deaths since I’m never prepared for them when they happen. Most recently Grandma Hye’s death made me tear up a bit.

    What’s the hardest thing about writing SimLit and how do you get past it?

    The hardest part for me is how to balance playing with writing. I try to play up to certain points and catch the stories up as I do but trying to update multiple stories in a way so I don’t enrage readers makes it a bit of a challenge.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I played a fairy once and her game got corrupted. Made me sad. But I love the fae in general.
      I haven’t tried TS4 yet so I can’t really say but I love the open world feel of TS3. Makes it lively and entertaining and great for storytelling.
      I love Erica and Vlad’s interactions. They are so sweet. Deaths are hard. I’ve experienced a few in game.
      I agree with you on the balancing play with writing. It’s challenging. I have multiple stories going and I have a love-hate relationship with cliffhangers. I want to play, and I want to write, and usually those two things take up a good chunk of the day by themselves. I’m working on balance. I’ve been thinking about playing for a week, then writing for a week, and seeing if that helps.

      I enjoyed reading your answers, JLBDreams16. 🙂

      Like

Commenters rock! Write on.

