2.14 Just Fine

Friday, Simtember 9, 2416 | Silverton Estate | Bay City, Califorsimia 

It’s an odd experience watching a grown woman scream her head off. It’s an even weirder experience when you’re that grown woman.

Screenshot-96

Naturally Mamma and Clark came running.

“What happened?” Clark stopped, dead-still across from me, his eyes growing wide at the strange sight of candles and the oversized movie poster behind me.

“Are you okay, Kassiopeia Celestia Fullbright?” my mother used my full-name, and despite being out-of-breath, she continued, “You scared us half to death… what on earth are you… doing… up… here? What did you…. ohhhhh myyyyyy!”

She bent over and grabbed her knees as if to catch her breath. As she stood upright, she grabbed Clark’s left shoulder to steady herself.

Screenshot-85

I was grateful the unearthly shrieking had stopped pouring out of my mouth, but I still glanced rapidly behind me to the left and the right to make sure I wasn’t seeing things. The only reflection in the mirror was my own and when I whirled back, only Mamma and Clark were in the room.

I know what I saw. The eyes, the infuriated eyes that glared at me in the looking glass and made the hair on my neck stand up on end. I tasted real fear in my throat, a dry, parched, uncomfortable feeling and my heart was racing so fast I thought it would dance right out of my chest.

“Kass?” Clark asked, the worry apparent in his tone.

“Kassiopeia! What is the meaning of this?” Mamma gasped. “Say something!”

“Uh…um…” I rubbed my hand on the back of my neck, my fingers sticky with sweat. “I… I… I…” I stammered. “I didn’t… do this… this…” I looked around at the strange sight behind me, feeling sick to my stomach. “…Whatever this is.”

What is this? What did I see? Who was that? And what in the world is this bizarre display behind me? 

Screenshot-118

“It’s okay,” Clark spoke up first, reaching toward me awkwardly.

I don’t remember crossing the room but I had moved closer to them. Mamma stood at my left with a puzzled look on her face.

“Mamma, it’s you?” I said, more as a question and less as a statement. “On the wall, right?”

She frowned. The room was filled with palpable tension.

“Uh… yes…” she admitted. “But what’s it doing here? I haven’t seen that in years…” she pointed to the poster.

“What is it?” I asked, finally regaining some steadiness in my tone.

“To be honest…” Mamma began slowly as if trying to think through her words carefully. “I don’t know.”

“What do you mean you don’t know!?” I exclaimed incredulously.

“What are you doing up here?”

“Why aren’t you answering my questions?”

Screenshot-111

“Kass, shh! People are sleeping,” Mamma said, taking a step back and holding up her hand.

“I don’t want to be quiet,” I snapped. “This whole thing is creepy. I’m in my room downstairs and all the sudden I hear movement up here so I came upstairs and found this! This!” I waved my hands around. “This whatever-you-want-to-call-it… and that poster of… you and Bella Goth!”

“Why don’t we all just calm down and come downstairs?” Clark suggested, reaching his arms out for me. “A hug should help take the edge off.”

Screenshot-117

“No!” I twisted rapidly to the side and raised my arms defensively. “I want to know what this is.”

“Well, it’s me, you’re right,” Mamma said with a slight huff in her tone. “But is this why you’re screaming? It’s hardly worth screaming.”

“No, I saw someone,” I explained, the annoyance lacing my words. “I saw someone in the mirror. An angry spirit or something. One minute it’s there and the next it’s not. I don’t know where she went but I’m not crazy,” I insisted. “And she’s up here with all these candles and a flower like it’s a shrine or something. A shrine to what? I don’t know. You? Bella? What the heck is this place?”

“The attic, of course,” Mamma said flippantly.

“Seriously, Mom!” I replied disrespectfully and rolled my eyes. “You are going to be sarcastic right now?”

“Well what do you want from me?” Mamma exclaimed. “I don’t know about the candles or the flowers or why this poster is hanging on the wall. To be honest, I don’t remember ever being in this room before. All this talk about angry spirits! Kass, it’s your medication talking…”

“Mamma, I’m not taking medication.”

“Well you’re sleep deprived or something.”

“No! Yes! Maybe! Gah!”

“Seriously, Kass, why you’d come up here in the middle of the night when you heard noises! You should’ve called Clark or the police or something.”

“Wha? What was I supposed to do? I thought you’d all think I was crazy so I thought I’d investigate it myself. So I guess I did and I scared myself. Whatever! I’m going to bed. You can explain yourself in the morning!”

“Kass, now, don’t stomp out on us,” Clark spoke up, his tone surprisingly even. “I’m not sure what you saw, but we believe you.”

Screenshot-139

“Sure you do,” I rubbed my temples, feeling all the tension wafting back. “We won’t even go there. What’s that?” I waved my finger at the wall. “I didn’t realize Mamma knew Bella, let alone posed for a movie poster with her.”

“It’s not a movie poster,” Mamma looked over my shoulder and replied quietly. “We were just trying out some modeling poses together.”

“Modeling? You modeled?” I said incredulously.

“Well, you don’t know everything about me,” Mamma huffed.

“I guess I don’t,” I snipped.

“We should all just go to bed and sort this out in the morning,” Clark inserted again.

“That’s just fine with me!” Mamma hollered.

“Yeah just fine,” I stomped off toward the doorway and out of the room.

Two grown women! Honestly! I mumbled to myself.

 

2.15 Coming Soon! 

  • Will Kass find out what happened and who she saw in the attic? 
  • Will Kass discover why her mother and Bella Goth were on a poster together? 
  • What other secrets does the Silverton Estate hold?
2 thoughts on “2.14 Just Fine”

Commenters rock! Write on.

