1.28, Part 1: eXtremely Interesting

Note: I’ve also decided to explore some of the Goth family secrets and have taken the liberty of changing… well, a lot of things. Enjoy! 

“Who are you?”

I jumped, startled by the voice behind me. I turned around. A pretty dark-haired, pale-skinned girl around my age walked up the front porch steps of the Goth Manor. I wished I wasn’t by myself. Ayesha had dropped me off and went back home to get her makeup kit.

“Are you here for my Uncle Gunther’s party?” the girl asked nonchalantly, tightening on her olive green bikini strings.

Screenshot-49

“Um…” I swallowed hard, trying to think of an appropriate reply.

“Or are you one of Alexander’s college friends?” she added, arching a brow and flicking a fly from her arm.

“No…um…” I mumbled.

Screenshot-50

“Or one of dad’s young new lady friends?” she said disdainfully, pointing an accusative finger at me. “Seriously, Ma’s been gone less than a decade and Pops seems to keep finding women younger and younger to…” she eyed me up and down suspiciously. “…entertain him…”

“No,” I replied, assertively, straightening my shoulders. “I am Kass Fullbright. I’m here to help with the catering staff.”

“Oh,” the girl’s face relaxed into a smile. “Why didn’t you say so from the start?” She leaned her shoulder forward playfully, her eyes twinkling. “I’m Cassandra Goth,” she offered her hand. “The only decent member of the Goth family… well, at least, the only normal one. Nice to meet you Kass.”

“Thank you, it’s nice to meet you too,” I loosened my shoulders. “I know who you are.”

“Of course you do!” Cassandra exclaimed dramatically. “Everyone knows the daughter of millionaire philanthropist and political financier who settled down with a woman half his age, had two kids, and then she abandoned him. Who doesn’t know the scandalous story of the mysterious disappearance of the glamorous Bella Goth?”

“Oh,” I winced. “I meant… I’ve heard your music. I have almost all the digital tracks of The Big Apple Philharmonic, and you’re featured as first chair violinist on many of them,” my cheeks flushed as I continued, “I… have been following you since your days at Jullsimard when you released songs with your string ensemble, Muze.”

Screenshot-47

“Really? A genuine fan?” Cassandra cocked her head to the side. “Thank you. I’m flattered.”

“Everyone knows the stories, but I prefer to judge for myself,” I replied, honestly.

“Refreshing. I like you Kass. Is that short for Cassandra too?”

“No, Kassiopeia. Everyone asks me that.”

“Cool. I like it,” Cassandra grinned. “Sorry to be so judgmental. It’s just people these days tend to judge me by my family… or my mother. Seriously, I wish more people were less intrusive. I mean it’s pretty clear my dad just couldn’t keep my mom and she ran off with some other guy and now she’s dead. Do I blame her? No, not really…” she sighed. “She probably just couldn’t take it… the price of fame and fortune… I’m convinced she took her life. Pops is pretty much a bore. I think that’s why Pops is trying to prove himself or something with younger and prettier women. I don’t know. I could never settle down with a bore… and my fiance is far from it.”

“Don Lothario, right?” I asked.

“Yeah, you do keep up with my family…”

“Well… sort of… I hear things here and there.”

“Okay, well then let me set the record straight. The gambling, the drinking, the women… it’s all just an act.  Donny’s a real charmer and that’s why people love and hate him. So what if he’s sowed some wild oats? He’s been with me since my twenty-first birthday last summer and that’s what matters,” Cassandra explained, and then laughed. “Llamas! Spilling my guts to a total stranger again! Sheesh! Who needs thousands of dollars of therapy when you can just talk to someone on the street anytime? Sorry. No offense.”

“None taken,” I said, trying to sound believable.

“Seriously, Pops would have a llama if he knew I was spilling my guts to you. He’s worried everything will end up in the tabloids.”

“My lips are sealed.”

“You know, you’re awesome, Kass. I find you extremely interesting. We should hang sometime. Seriously… I mean… my friends… they probably shoot every bit of gossip to the presses directly after hanging with me, but I have a feeling you wouldn’t. I could trust you… extremely interesting indeed.” She looked at her nails. “Seriously… well, I shouldn’t keep you. If you follow this pathway around back, you’ll find the catering staff. Good luck.”

“Thanks.”

“Anytime,” she waved and walked in the house.

Screenshot-43

“Are you here to help tend bar?” a staff member asked enthusiastically as I approached the backyard.

“No,” I waved my hands. “I don’t know anything about bartending… well maybe… short of  ‘shaken, not stirred.'” 

She giggled. “Like it. Bond reference. Classic… most people our age don’t know anything about James Bond.”

“I like old earth movies.”

“Nice. Me too. Jasmine Bordeaux.”

“Kass Fullbright.”

“Fullbright?” Jasmine arched a brow. “There’s another Fullbright here today on the wait staff.”

“Really?” I frowned.

“Yes, I just met her…” Jasmine puzzled.

“Met… her…” I trailed off as I whipped my head around to look at the staff surrounding us.

There was a young man cleaning leaves out of the pool, and two waitresses and a chef at the far end setting up the buffet tables. Another man was walking down the back steps carrying a clipboard. And Carina was walking right toward us. 

“What are you doing here?” we both said in unison. Cari laughed. I frowned.

“I’m working. What does it look like? I decided to earn extra work study hours over the summer so I can beat that brown-nosing Ethan Bunch. I’ll be one hour ahead when I finish this party tonight,” Cari explained proudly.

“Lisa’s older brother?” I remarked. “Interesting.”

“What are you doing here?” she asked, leaning forward for emphasis.

“Uh… I needed the money…” I offered weakly. I didn’t want to tell her the truth. “So what are you serving today, Jasmine?”

“The usuals and for specials, strawberry margaritas, pina coladas, pineapple sangrias…” Jasmine explained.

“I might have to try a pineapple sangria,” I said enthusiastically.

“No fair! You get the alcoholic one!” Cari pouted prettily.

“Ha!” I huffed. “Legal drinking age is two years away for you, missy.”

“Well, at least I’m sixteen now,” Cari puffed out her chest. “I’m almost an adult.”

“Whatever,” I rolled my eyes.

“I guess I’ll have to be content with sparkling cider,” Cari sighed.

“Okay, well now,” Jasmine interrupted the sibling rivalry.  “Kass, check in at the buffet table with Mr. Todd on the other side of the pool.  And I think you’ll be wanted in the kitchen, Cari.”

“Thanks,” I smiled as I turned around.

“Where’s the kitchen?”Cari frowned.

Screenshot-39

“Up those side steps and to the right,” a handsome dark-haired man answered as he passed by us.

“Oh,” she smiled shyly. “Thank you.”

I watched, to my amusement, Cari squirm awkwardly as if resisting the urge to turn around and stare at the cream-suit-clad young man. I could hear him walking up the metal spiral staircase to the deck above us where the music was playing. Jasmine smirked behind us.

“What?” Cari asked.

“Nothing,” she laughed, and then leaned in closer to whisper, “Isn’t Alex dreamy?”

“That’s Alexander Goth?” I replied, my eyes widening, mentally kicking myself. Great! You recognize Cassandra but you don’t recognize her attractive little brother! 

“He is nice to look at,” Cari admitted, craning her neck to catch a glimpse of him on the deck above us.

“Yes, silly,” Jasmine slapped a towel over her shoulder as she lowered her voice again, “I heard he’s single again…” she said, and then pouted. “But he probably invited a date tonight. He never goes single.”

“Uh… yeah…” I sighed. “His date’s a friend of mine.”

“Rats!” Cari said under her breath.

“Oh really?” Jasmine replied. “Lucky girl… ” a far off look crossed her eyes. “Well the rest of us have to work for a living. See you around.”

Screenshot-45

I smiled and walked away, casting a watchful eye toward Carina, who was watching the staircase. I suddenly wished I was the date tonight and Ayesha was the wait staff. Stop it! I kicked myself. You’re jealous. And it’s stupid to be jealous. You don’t even know the guy. Cari’s already moony over him anyhow. 

By five o’clock the party was in full swing. Mr. Todd, my supervisor, had me working the crowds, carrying trays of food between the guests. I hoped to catch a glimpse of Gunther Goth, Jr. I didn’t know what I’d say to him even though I’d rehearsed it a dozen times in my head. Nothing sounded right. How do you convince a man you don’t know at his birthday party to reopen defunct division of his multi-billion-dollar corporation? I finally did find him. He was lecturing his son on the side of the house about staying inside with the nanny.

Screenshot-62

“But I don’t wanna, dad, it’s more fun out here,” the boy protested.

“Get inside and go to your room, Monty₆,” his father said sternly. “Don’t make me ask again.”

Monty hung his head dejected, as he climbed the steps. Gunther was alone momentarily. Now’s my chance. I decided eagerly, balancing my tray of pigs-in-a-blanket appetizers in one hand. I stepped forward courageously.

“Gunther,” a silver-haired woman with a tinny voice said, stepping in my way. “Such a lovely party. And a pool party at that. Genius! Don’t you think so, honey?” she turned to the man next to her. “The weather is perfect for this kind of party.”

Screenshot-72

“Yes, a great time to work on my tan,” he replied, putting a hand on his hip.

“It was Amelia’s idea,” Gunther replied politely. “You’ll have to thank her.”

“Where is that wife of yours?” the woman inquired. “I’d love to compliment her on the lovely shade of tulips in the side garden.”

“Appetizer?” I interjected, holding up my plate.

The man and woman frowned.

“Ugh! How can you expect me to eat meat?” the man snapped.

“Do you know who this is?” the woman said shrilly. “This is Farmington Wright, the fitness extraordinaire! The legend of the health food world! The one-man propulsion behind the Veggie-Wright diet! He can’t eat pig… or whatever terrible meat that is.”

“My apologies,” I said softly. “I didn’t know.”

She hmmf-ed and walked past me as did Mr. ‘Veggie-Wright.’

“Gunther,” she turned around on her heel and glared at me.  “The party snacks… and wait staff… are growing dull.”

“For you sir?” I asked, offering a snack to Gunther Jr.

“No thank you,” he said quietly, walking away also. “I need to go find Amelia.”

I can find Amelia for you, sir. I have something to say. I’d like to ask you a question. There’s something I’d like to talk to you about. Call after him, you idiot! Argh! Too late now. You blew that. Maybe I should go find Cassandra and ask for an introduction. At least she thought I was ‘extremely interesting.’ 

Chapter 28, Part 2 Coming Soon! 

  • Will Kass be able to talk to Gunther Goth Jr.? 
  • How will the party turn out?
  • Will we learn more about Carina?  

Author Changes: What’s different? 

  • I’m updating the Goth family tree. There is no link currently to the family. You’ll be able to view this in the future. You can find the new link to the updated Goth family tree on the family trees page.
  • Mom was changed to Ma.
  • 25th birthday was changed to 21st.
  • Amelia’s university location is removed from below.

Story Extras: 

  1. Cassandra Goth is the oldest daughter of Mortimer Goth and Bella Bachelor Goth, and the sister of Alexander Goth. In my Simworld, Cassandra is 22 and engaged to Don Lothario. She is a concert violinist who attended Jullisimard School and plays for the Big Apple City Philharmonic. She lives in Big Apple City, New Yorksim, a play off New York City.
  2. Jullsimard Conservatory is a play off The Julliard School and is located in Big Apple City.
  3. Don Lothario is the fiance of Cassandra Goth in my Simworld. His appearance is that of the Riverview Don, but some things have been altered for purposes of my story.
  4. Alexander Goth is the son of Mortimer Goth and Bella Bachelor Goth and the younger brother of Cassandra Goth. In my Simworld, he is 19, and just completed his freshman year at Sim State University in Pleasantview, Califorsimia. He is studying accounting.
  5. Gunther Goth Jr. is the third child of Gunther Sr. and Cornelia Goth, the husband of Amelia Goth, and the father of Monty Goth. His appearance is based on Gunther Goth of Sunset Valley in the Sims 3. In my Simworld, he is the CEO of the Raven Research Syndicate and he lives in Oakland. He is 40 years old.
  6. Montgomery ‘Monty’ Goth is the son of Gunther Jr. and Amelia Goth. His appearance is based on young Mortimer Goth from Sunset Valley. He lives with his parents in Oakland. He is 6 years old.
  7. Amelia Merchant Goth is the wife of Gunther Goth, Jr. and the mother of Monty Goth. She is renamed for purposes of my Sim story, and her appearance is based on young Cornelia Goth in Sunset Valley. She lives in Oakland with her family and she is a professor of literature.
2 thoughts on “1.28, Part 1: eXtremely Interesting”

    1. Having never played Sims 2, I felt like I had some freedom to play around with her… a lot. Sometimes I read up on what characters are like and sometimes I just let the game dictate and then let my imagination run wild. I hope you liked the new Cassandra.

      Like

Commenters rock! Write on.

