The Liebster Award

Dear readers and fellow Simmers,

I had a lovely surprise last Saturday. I was nominated by the lovely LauraEliza over at The Maldini Legacy for the Liebster Award.  Basically, it’s an award passed around the blogging community by other bloggers to show appreciation and to circulate great content.

I did a little research and discovered the word ‘Liebster’ is of German origin, and means ‘dear, sweet, kind, nice, valued, lovely, and pleasant.’ Well, it’s wonderful to be thought of as that. Thank you LauraEliza for this honor. She has an excellent blog about a criminal legacy, and you should totally check it out!

liebster-award-300-px

The rules are such: 

  • Share the award on your blog.
  • Thank the person who nominated you and link back to their blog.
  • Nominate other bloggers who you feel deserve the award and who have 3,000 or fewer followers.
  • Answer 11 questions by your nominator and ask your nominees 11 questions.

I nominate: 

  • The Torres Legacy – follow the story of the Torres family, beginning with the lovely young royal Aaliyah Shelby and her mysterious landscaper Antonio Torres. Their family is far from normal with a whole host of supernaturals from a resurrected ghost to the fae, vampires, witches, werewolves, and more. I love how Taina, the author, is exploring different supernaturals through her generations. I haven’t been able to read fast enough. This is one addicting blog. 
  • Zahra’s Baby Challenge – Okay, technically, I don’t know if this counts since LauraEliza already nominated me, but she did so through her other blog, The Maldini Legacy. This story follows the life of a beautiful young woman named Zahara as she travels from Isla Paradiso to the gorgeous snowy custom world of Vargfjell to make a new life for herself and to raise her… well… lots of children. The story is equal parts heartwarming and equal parts entertaining. 
  • Colourcaste – a beautifully diverse Sims story exploring themes of prejudice, injustice, survival, social structure, and oppression. Readers enter a dystopian world where the people are divided by a rainbow of colors and bound by an unyielding creed. It has the flavor of Divergent and the Giver but on the unique platform of The Sims 3. 
  • The Drake Family Secrets – this story follows the life of Madeline Drake who discovers that her mother is not really her mom, but her grandmother. And her real mother is actually a drug-addicted prostitute. Talk about world-changing. I’ve been following amandralyn since her first legacy, The Gallagher Legacy, and each one just keeps getting better. I love her edginess and grit mixed with a healthy dose of laughter and tears. 
  • Dustland Fairytale – I only recently found this gem, but I absolutely love Hannah’s writing style. She takes something as ordinary and mundane as a microwave in the first chapter and makes a masterpiece out of it. A gritty modern-retelling of the Cinderella fairytale set in the dustlands of Arizona and Las Vegas. I can’t wait to read more and find out what happens to Jolene Jones. 

There are multiple other blogs I follow and read, but many of them are either on hiatus or completed now. It was tough to find current, ongoing Sims stories.

The Questions I Was Asked: 

 

  1. Is there a particular author who’s writing style inspires you or who you really admire? That’s a tough one to answer. I don’t think I could narrow it down to one particular writer. The first Sims 3 story I read was Alice and Kev. I was inspired by Robin, the author, to never be afraid of pushing boundaries in my Sims games. Next, I read The Music Box Mystery by SimaticSims. She gave me the idea to explore the unsolved mysteries of The Sims 3, something I hope to do with my own character, Kassiopeia. After that, I couldn’t get enough of her works. I hungrily lapped up The Life of Yuliya Lime and The Life of Ludmilla Lime and all of the spin-offs, always wanting more. I loved how she constantly kept the plot moving forward and her characters were so different and yet so believable. I recently discovered The Torres Legacy and I can’t get enough. It is a brilliantly creative story exploring the nitty gritty realism of living in a world with supernaturals. Taina’s writing style is inspiring because her ingenuity totally makes me naturally invest in the characters. Their heartaches, tears, laughter, and joy are mine. These are the kinds of stories I want to write with The Sims 3. 
  2. When did you first start playing The Sims? And did you start with 1, 2 or 3? I’m a fairly new Simmer. April 2014. I was introduced to The Sims 3 by my brother-in-law and have been sucked into countless hours of playing. I haven’t actually ever played any of the other Sims games. 
  3. What’s your favorite Sims 3 Expansion? I absolutely adore University Life. The coffee shop addition was gold. I’m only sad you can’t stay in the Uni world. 
  4. Do you write your story and then make the sims play it out with poses etc. or do write a story based on whatever happens in game? Or a bit of both? A combination of both. I often have ideas of where I want the story to go in my mind, and sometimes I elaborately outline everything. I have massive amounts of documents devoted to background, character development, plot, and spin-off ideas. But I love setting High Free Will on and watching my Sims make their own choices. Often this gives me the best twists in my plot. I never hit writer’s block this way. At least not yet. Fingers crossed. Knock on wood. 
  5. Do you have a favorite type of Sims blog to read (Legacies, Baby Challenges etc.)? I would have to say I love highly character-driven in-depth stories. I almost like to forget that I’m reading a Sims story. That’s how I know the writing is good. Those are the kinds of stories that suck me in. The Sims is just an awesome platform. 
  6. What fictional character would you like to meet in real life? I sometimes catch myself thinking how much fun it would be to guest star in another Sim’s story. This is a tough one because I have so many favorite Sims characters. I just finished reading Generation 2 of The Torres Legacy and I’d have to say I’d love to meet Rae Rose Torres. She is such an intriguing character, plus she’s married to a sexy werewolf. I also admire Zahra from Zahra’s baby challenge. That Mama kicks butt. From my own story, I’m so biased. (Lol). I’d love to meet Kass. I’m so enjoying exploring her personality and her background. She is so real to me sometimes. 
  7. What inspired you to write your Sims blog? I have been a writer for as long as I can remember. I’ve been attempting to write a historical fantasy novel since I was 15, and it’s undergone many, many, many revisions. I was hitting writer’s block one night with the novel and desperately wanting to find fresh ideas. I turned to the Sims game and dreamed up Kass. I’ve been using her story to write a little each day and it’s turned into a full-blown obsesseion story of its own. Now I alternate between the two, using one to inspire and help me springboard into the other. 
  8. Do you have a specific song or playlist that you think sums up your story or that you listen to while writing? To be honest, I listen to a wide variety of genres while I’m writing so there isn’t one specific song that sums up my stories. For Davis and Kass’s love story, I listen to a lot of jazz. For the soon-to-be Brigit Briody’s spinoff story, I listen to Disney songs. Owl City, Coldplay, Snow Patrol, Switchfoot, Relient K, and Five for Fighting have all inspired aspects of my stories. 
  9. Have you ever had a really weird or funny bug or glitch happen in your game? Frequently. Arms through walls. Demented looking characters. I have to include this photo though… Gage Briody… he didn’t stick around after graduation because he turned into a zombie… and he was stuck in this blue-glowy light all night long, his facial expression never changing. Screenshot-609
  10. Do you play computer/console games outside of the Sims? If so, what? I have a collection of Nancy Drew games from my middle school days that I occasionally play. I enjoy Star Wars: The Old Republic online every once in awhile. I have a Imperial Agent who kicks butt. Just today I tried out Neverwinter on the console. 
  11. Favorite aspect of the Sims (do you like building, interior decorating, Create-a-sim, actual game-play or just everything about it!)? Gameplay is by far my favorite, but originally, I really got into the Sims 3 because I loved the world-building and creating houses. Now, to be honest, I typically just edit pre-made homes and lots because it saves a lot of time. 

My 11 Questions for You: 

  1. Who or what inspired you to start writing your Sims blog?
  2. Do you have a preference? (The Sims, Sims 2, Sims 3, Sims 4, or one of the console options)
  3. What’s one thing from the Sims world that you wish was a reality in the real world?
  4. Who do you think is the most attractive base-game (or created) Sim?
  5. What’s your favorite Sims world to play in (can be CC)?
  6. If you could live in any Sims world, which one would you live in (can be CC)?
  7. Do you ever encounter writer’s block when writing your Sims stories (like you look at your screenshots and think Gah! There’s nothing here! or you just don’t know how to write words that adequately accompany your game)? How do you get past writer’s block?
  8. Do you like interacting with base-game Sims or do you prefer creating all your own characters?
  9. What’s been your biggest challenge in writing a Sims story?
  10. Who’s been your favorite character you’ve created so far? Your least favorite (or least flushed-out) character? The one that’s surprised you the most?
  11. What’s something you’ve never tried in The Sims but you’d like to try in a game?

 

6 thoughts on “The Liebster Award”

  1. Congratulations (in delay)!!! 🙂

    My blog has also been nominated by Laura, her legacy was the first one I’ve read. I love it! I believe it’s on hiatus now… Her other blog is also fun. I don’t think I would be able to do the baby challenge, because well… It’s really challenging 😀

    The picture of zombified Gage was hilarious! I’m happy I found some new stories to read 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. I see you transformed it into some kind of womanizer challenge. LOL

        The game corruption is the main reason I never attempted the baby challenge. I think too many Sims have the power to really kill the game. Shame though, it could be fun. Especially with your father twist 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Commenters rock! Write on.

