1.19: Nice Day

Davis called me later that night before I got a chance to call him. It felt a little weird talking to him when he was in the poolhouse and I was in my grandparent’s house across the way, but I didn’t really care. Davis asked  me to meet him for brunch at the Big Wick Bistro in the Grand Admiral Hotel down by New Pier Beach.

Screenshot-234

I arrived at five minutes to ten. Davis was sitting at the back table on the patio reading the newspaper. I smiled to myself. There was something charming about a man who read the paper.

“Hi stranger,” I said teasingly.

“Kassiopeia!” he jumped up suddenly, tossing his newspaper away. “I’m so glad you’re here.” He embraced me warmly before pulling out my seat. “You look pretty today!”

“Well, thank you,” I blushed. “I didn’t know how cold it’d be down here on the pier so I threw on a hoodie.”

Screenshot-238

“It’s a beautiful shade of blue,” he smiled.

“Now, you’re just patronizing me,” I laughed awkwardly.

“No, I’m serious, Kassiopeia, you are a beautiful woman,” Davis insisted.

“Okay, handsome,” I smirked. “You gonna buy me breakfast?”

“Yes, milady,” he smiled, and nodded graciously. “And thank you for the compliment.”

We headed inside to place our order. I couldn’t decide on what I wanted so I filled my plate with eggs, waffles, bacon, and a fruit cup the first time. On my second trip inside, I picked up a breakfast burrito.

Screenshot-258

“I like a woman who eats,” Davis chuckled as we sat down for the second time.

“Stop it!” I hushed. “I’m just a little… hungry… today.”

“I’ll say,” he replied.

“Are you sure you just want oatmeal?” I asked, changing the subject.

“Peaches’n’cream is one of my favorites,” he replied, almost a little defensively.

“Okay, I’ll just have to take your word for it.”

“Not an oatmeal gal?”

“Not really.”

“We might have to change that.”

Screenshot-260

“Oh really? Seriously, you bring me to The Grand Admiral Hotel for Sunday brunch and all you want is oatmeal. I could’ve made you some of that in my Nonna’s kitchen.”

“But did you really want to have brunch with me in your Nonna’s kitchen?” Davis asked, his eyes twinkling.

“Well, no,” I laughed.

“Right. You deserve the best, my dear, and The Grand Admiral’s Sunday brunch is delicious,” Davis answered. “Plus we get a more intimate setting here.”

I blushed at the mention of the word ‘intimate.’

Screenshot-265

Screenshot-269

We enjoyed our quiet breakfast. I was surprised there weren’t more people out on the pier, but it was cooler this morning – upper 50s.

As the morning went on, a few musicians had gathered on the patio and began playing smooth jazz songs. I smiled pleasantly realizing this was another reason Davis brought me to Sunday brunch. I appreciated his thoughtfulness.

Screenshot-276

He even asked me to dance.

Screenshot-277

Screenshot-279

Screenshot-280

“So did you bring your suit?” Davis asked me with a grin.

“Why, you just want to see me in a swim suit again, don’t you?” I teased. “Yes, I brought it.”

“I can’t help it. You were a pretty welcome surprise that day when you walked into my apartment…”

“Excuse me! I had no idea you lived in my grandparents’ poolhouse and I had to go to the bathroom. How is that a welcome surprise?”

“Well, I wasn’t thinking about the bathroom part. I was just remembering that hot bikini of yours!”

I flushed. “Well, you’re out of luck. Today I brought a tankini.”

“Well, whatever you’re wearing, I’ll enjoy it,” Davis grinned wickedly.

We parted ways and I went to change in the Tiki Hut Bathrooms while Davis went to secure us a spot on the beach. I fixed my hair and then put away my belongings in a rent-a-locker. As I walked across the hot sand, I wished I had the sense to bring flip flops. Davis makes you all moonstruck! I chided myself.

Screenshot-283

“Kass, is that you?” a voice called to me.

I approached a girl around my age wearing a maid’s uniform standing on the beach next to the hotel chairs. It was Shameka.

Screenshot-282

“Uh… hi… Shameka,” I said awkwardly. “What are you doing here?”

“I work here,” she replied. “I got a job here before I met Gage.”

“Before you met Gage?” I arched a brow.

“Yeah, well I wanted to secure a job and I knew I wanted to live in Sunset Valley, even if Gage didn’t want anything to do with me, but I’m so glad he did,” she grinned.

“Yeah,” I shrugged, and then suddenly panicked. “Is Gage with you?”

He still doesn’t know about Davis. 

Screenshot-285

“No silly, I’m working today,” Shameka laughed. “Why?”

“Oh, no reason,” I tried to sound casual. “I was just curious is all…”

Screenshot-295

“Would you like to do lunch with me today?” she asked with a hopeful smile. “I’m off on my break in about a half-hour.”

“Oh!” I exclaimed startled. “Uh… sorry, Shameka… I just had a huge breakfast.”

“The hotel Sunday brunch, right?” she nodded. “Yeah, I saw the buffet. That’ll fill you up.”

I felt my cheeks grow heated. Somehow, even if she didn’t mean it, I felt as if she were implying I ate too much.

“Okay, maybe another time,” she smiled sweetly, tilting her head annoyingly to the side.

“Yeah, another time,” I replied hurriedly.  “I’ll let you get back to work.”

“Thanks.”

Screenshot-301

“You’re back,” Davis said excitedly as I approached, and noticed Shameka as she walked away. “Friend of yours?”

Screenshot-310

I ducked under the umbrella hoping she didn’t see us together. Why does it matter, Kass? You’re with Davis and not Gage. And she’s his sister. But I really don’t want her telling Gage about Davis first. 

“Uh… kinda…”

Screenshot-304

“See that swimsuit is hot,” Davis smiled as he leaned forward.

“Oh stop it!”

“You’re blushing. It’s cute.”

Screenshot-306

“Seriously, Davis? You call me hot in one breath and cute in another.”

“Okay, beautiful,” he corrected.

I leaned back in the beach chair, closing my eyes. “Thank you.”

Screenshot-311

Davis leaped up. “So you ready to get your butt kicked at flying disc?”

“Flying disc? How do you kick…” I wrinkled my nose. “… my butt at that?”

“I just so happened to be the flying disc golf champion at Edgewater…” Davis said proudly.

“Well that’s a mouthful,” I interrupted.

“… during my senior year,”Davis continued. “… so I think I have a leg up.”

“Oh really?” I tilted my head coyly. “Then I’m game!”

Screenshot-313

 Davis, the gentleman that he was, let me go first.

Screenshot-314

He flubbed the first catch.

“Champion, huh?” I arched a brow.

“Stop it, I’m just being gracious…” Davis laughed.

Screenshot-319

Screenshot-322

Screenshot-320

We played flying disc for awhile.

“Isn’t this weather gorgeous?” Davis exclaimed. “It really warmed up. I love this view.”

He looked out across the water.

Screenshot-321

Yeah, I enjoyed the view tremendously too.

Screenshot-324

We hopped in the water when the sun got too warm.

Screenshot-325

Screenshot-326

Like flying disc golf, Davis was an excellent swimmer. He shared how he had been on swim team in high school and his freshman year in college, but switched to baseball. He enjoyed baseball better although both sports helped keep him in shape. I definitely admired his shape. We swam until sunset.

Screenshot-328

Screenshot-330

Davis whistled. “Look at that sunset!”

Screenshot-331

Screenshot-332

Screenshot-333

“It is gorgeous,” I breathed a happy sigh.

“Picture perfect,” Davis whistled.

“Wish I brought a camera,” I sighed.

“My camera couldn’t do this view justice. Still, it’d be a nice addition to my…” he trailed off.

“Oh so you’re into photography?” I quirked a brow.

Davis paled, narrowed his eyes, and looked as though he was about to say something.

Screenshot-336

Suddenly, Davis splashed me.

“What was that for?” I sputtered.

He splashed me again.

“Oh you so asked for it!” I splashed him back.

We both laughed and shrieked and splashed each other for a few minutes. Davis caught my arm and yanked me underwater. When we came back up, he had his arms securely around me. No matter how much I wiggled, I couldn’t get free.

“Davis!” I wiped the water out of my eyes. “Let me go.”

“Do you really want me to let you go?” he asked calmly.

I stopped fighting him and just enjoyed being in his arms, leaning back into his bare chest. He smelled of sea salt and sunscreen – a delicious combination in my opinion.

“Come on, I’ll give you a water piggyback to shore,” he offered and I hopped on his back, enjoying the feel of my legs around his middle.

Screenshot-350

Davis purchased hot dogs, buns, and stuff to make s’mores from The Tiki Hut. I snagged some condiment packets. He grilled me some hot dogs while I relaxed leisurely on the bench.

Screenshot-351

“Whoo! These look great!” he said enthusiastically as he sat the hot dogs down on the picnic table.

“Mmm, they smell good, and I’m starved. It’s been awhile since breakfast,” I nodded. “And all you had was oatmeal.”

“Hey!” he exclaimed. “Don’t knock oatmeal. It’s very filling.”

“But we’ve been very active today and we didn’t have lunch,” I reminded him.

“True,” he conceded.

Screenshot-353

I squirted ketchup, mustard, and relish on my hot dog and handed him a packet in between bites. I was starved. He shook his head.

“What? No condiments?” I asked.

“Nope, I like my hot dogs plain,” he replied.

“Plain?” I made a face. “We might have to change that.”

“Touche,” he grinned.

Screenshot-354

I noticed he sat down on the opposite side of the table. It was surprising to me, especially because I assumed he’d sit next to me. I tried not to be disappointed. We ate our hot dogs in silence, both of us hungry.

Screenshot-357

Davis burped loudly.

“Excuse you,” I said dramatically.

“Excuse me,” Davis repeated meekly.

I smothered a laugh.

Screenshot-340

After we were finished, Davis went to use the restroom. I wandered over to the beach to get started on my s’mores. I stuck three marshmallows on my stick and began roasting them over the fire.

“These are going to be perfect!” I said happily.

Screenshot-342

Screenshot-343

Unfortunately for us, our romantic moment was crashed by another beachgoer. He introduced himself as Chad and asked if he could join us. Before I could protest, Davis welcomed him. I frowned, feeling gypped. But I decided I couldn’t complain as we had pretty much spent the whole day together.

Screenshot-345

Screenshot-346

Screenshot-348

I should’ve complained. Chad talked nonstop about his summer vacation in Sunset Valley and how it was a dream come true. He was from upstate Simpire  and it was rainy and dreary there, and even had thunderstorms in the summer. Here in Sunset Valley everything was just so perfect. I rolled my eyes but Davis seemed to be sincerely listening. I decided to control my expressions a little better for his sake.

“So are you two visiting also?” Chad asked, finally pausing to take a breath.

“Oh no, I live here,” I replied quickly. “And Davis is from Louisimana.”

“Oh that’s cool. I went to a festival down there once in New Simoleans. Best spring break ever!” Chad said enthusiastically, and then turned his attention to me, “So since I’m here… and you’re from here… maybe you could show me the sites and all, Kass, sometime… it’d be nice.”

“Oh… I… uh…” I responded surprised. “I don’t know.”

“Come on! It’ll be fun. I’m sure you know the most rad places!” Chad enthused. ” I’d love to have a pretty tour guide with intimate knowledge of the city.”

Screenshot-349

I flubbed for the right response, though inwardly I was screaming, ‘NO!’ I looked at Davis for help, but he was eyeing his marshmallow intently. I felt a little hurt he didn’t jump in and stop the guy from making a fool of himself, or to mention he was my boyfriend. Chad even looked at Davis as if expecting a response. But Davis was either too enamored with his s’more or seriously not paying attention. Either way, I felt hurt.

“Uh, perhaps another time,” I finally said, annoyance grating at my tone.

“Oh okay,” Chad said, disappointed. “If you change your mind, let me know. I’m staying here through next weekend.”

Davis drove me home…well, us both home. The car ride was actually fairly quiet. I wondered if I did something, and internally panicked.  What if he’s changed his mind? What if he isn’t serious about us? What if he’s just playing me? What if he’s into these open relationships and he’s cool with us seeing other people because I’m not? Why didn’t he say something to Chad? Why isn’t he talking? Why am I so worried? It’s that stupid kiss! It’s because I can’t think clearly around him. It’s because I’m… 

“Well, Kass, I had a nice day,” Davis said as he stepped out of his car in my grandparents driveway.

Just a nice day? I was so disappointed.

“Yeah,” I said lamely. “Me too.”

“Alright, good night then,” Davis smiled and waved.

He walked off toward the poolhouse, leaving me standing near the front door. I turned on my heel in frustration, huffed, and walked away. When I reached the front door, I stopped and waited, hoping he’d come back and at least give me a hug, or say something besides ‘I had a nice day.’ 

Why do I bother? I leaned my head back against the door. I’m his girlfriend but it’s like I don’t exist sometimes… or I’m not all that important… or I don’t know… 

I turned around and banged my head lightly against the door.

What did I do wrong to earn ‘just a nice day?’ 

Chapter 20 Coming Soon!

  • Will Kass and Davis ever figure out what each other really wants? 
  • Will Kass give up on Davis? 
  • Will she tell Gage what’s going on?

Author Changes: What’s different?

  • Picture size has been edited.
  • Two instances of grandmother was changed to Nonna.
  • New Yorksim was changed to Simpire.
  • Minor grammatical changes.

Story Extras: 

  1. Big Wick Bistro is a nod to The Sims 2: Vacation Island. In the Palazzo Palms Hotel wikia article, there is a reference to leaving Big Wick Sage candles on the lobby dining tables so Sims will eat outside.
  2. Grand Admiral Hotel is a reference to the “grand” Admiral Landgrabb.
  3. New Pier Beach is a custom lot courtesy of indiesine onThe Sims Resource.
7 thoughts on “1.19: Nice Day”

  1. Wow! Would you look at the sunset! I have never seen one like this before. It literally took my breath away… And the picture of Kass and Davis swimming in the reflection of the sun on the surface of the ocean was simply beautiful! Now I just wish they were happy together. The scene with Chad made me giggle, he’s hitting on Kass in front of Davis who does nothing but roast his marshmallows… I’m really curious what happens next! Hopefully, the following chapter will tell more… 😉

    Like

    1. The sunset is breathtaking. I love trying to catch these kinds of shots in my game. Their “date” had an absolutely perfect day with gorgeous weather. Chad was funny and a little annoying since he kept ruining my shots. He totally just showed up and started jabbering on and on and asking lots of questions. I added him into the story. I didn’t see him again though, but that’s okay. He was “just visiting.”

      Liked by 1 person

      1. When I first started playing this game, I was too concentrated on the house and my Sims and I used to forget about the open world and what happens around town. Now everytime my Sims are away or asleep, I’m stalking the townies, admiring sunsets, peeking over to the junkyard etc. I’m really curious, I know. But it’s fun 🙂

        I hate when you are ‘filming’ a scene and some random Sim comes around to bother!! I have a solution to this: simply reset the annoying Sim, he’ll go mind his business somewhere else 😉

        Like

Commenters rock! Write on.

