1.15: Catastrophe

Note: My friends, I have some sad news. The house where Kass and her family lives became corrupted in game and I was forced to reload and try again. Unfortunately, her childhood home is no longer livable. I was able to load a saved game and wreck up the house a bit to make it appear as though an earthquake happened. After this post and the next I will be moving the family to a new location. 

Screenshot-109

A scream tore from my mouth as the huge evergreen tree crashed down in front of Jade’s Java Jolt just a few yards away.

“Kass, it’s okay,” Davis’ voice swam through the roaring in my head.

The outside lights flickered and shut off. What’s happening? I thought in bewilderment.

“It’s okay,” he put his arms around me. “It’s an earthquake.”

His voice sounded strained and faraway as I heard car alarms wailing, dogs barking, other people yelling in the distance. An earthquake? I tried to wrap my head around what had just happened.

“Are you okay?” he asked, concerned.

Screenshot-381

I turned around as another wave of dizziness overwhelmed me. Everything was so chaotic and he seemed eerily calm.

“An earthquake?” I repeated.

“Yes,” he said seriously. “Let me see your eye.”

“My eye!” I exclaimed, panicked as my hand flew up to my face.

“A tree branch whipped past the side of your face. I just want to make sure it didn’t leave a mark,” he said. Seeing my panicked expression, he added, “It’s okay, Kass, you’re in good hands. I won’t let anything happen to you.”

“I’m sorry,” I apologized, my whole body was shaking.

“It’s perfectly natural to be a little shaken up when an earthquake happens,” he said, examining my face gently.

“Ow!” I yelped as he brushed my left eyebrow.

“You have a small cut. Nothing a little antiseptic won’t fix,” he reassured me.

Screenshot-380

My face plummeted into his shoulder, partly in worry, partly in relief. I tucked my arms under his to keep my balance. He slid his arms under my hair and pulled me close.

“It’s okay, Kass, it’s over, don’t worry,” Davis said soothingly.

I wished I could believe him. I felt an inexplicable wave of panic that would not wash away.

“My family!” I exclaimed, pulling back suddenly.

“I’ll drive you home and we’ll go check on them,” Davis offered.

“Is it safe?” I asked worriedly as we walked to the car.

“We’ll find out,” he replied honestly.

Screenshot-150

My worst fears were confirmed when I saw the fire truck in front of my house. Davis turned to look at me to stop me from running up.

“Kass, you might not want to look,” Davis said slowly.

“No,” I protested.

“Maybe we should wait here and see what the firemen say,” he recommended.

“There’s my family…” I said in frantic relief.

Screenshot-143

We ran up toward the house. I opened my mouth to make a sound, but nothing could come out. Davis covered his mouth in horror. My house was a disaster.

Screenshot-138

The roof was completely gone, parts of the walls were collapsed and missing, leaving huge gaping holes. Smoke poured from the back of the house where the kitchen would be. I could see flames licking the side of the house. Patches of grass were missing from my front lawn from places where the ground had caved in. Several tall trees were just stumps. I was in shock.

Screenshot-141

Andi and Cari were outside in their PJs and Mamma just stood in disbelief, waving her hands, a saddened expression on her face.

Screenshot-133

I tried to walk toward Mamma and my sisters but my feet felt like lead and my legs like Jell-O. Several neighbors had gathered to watch the fireman battle the blaze. I don’t remember much. One minute I was standing and the next I was on the ground.

Screenshot-134

“Hey are you okay?” my neighbor, Mandy asked as I was sitting up.

My head felt hazy and I focused in on her face. She was a classmate of Andi’s. Davis was shortly behind her and he ran over and helped me to my feet.

“Kass, do you need a doctor?” he asked worriedly.

I smiled weakly, still overwhelmed by dizziness. “You are a doctor,” I chuckled half-heartedly.

“Not yet, honey,” he cracked a smile.

“What’s the buzzing noise?” I asked, tapping the side of my head.

“Let’s get you to the hospital,” Davis suggested.

As he turned his head to the side, everything tunneled out and the voices got farther away. I tried to fight the black, but I couldn’t stop the panicking sensation as I drifted off to unconsciousness.

Chapter 16 Coming Soon! 

  • Is Kass okay?
  • What’s going to happen with her home?
  • What will happen with Kass and her new relationship with Davis?

Author Changes: What’s different?

  • Picture size was edited.
14 thoughts on “1.15: Catastrophe”

  1. I’m having a similar problem with my game, I don’t really know what is causing it, but sometimes when I play, my game will freeze every 5 seconds. I tried playing on other lots in the town and the game runs just fine. I think that it’s really not a good idea to have the legacy live on the same lot for 10 generations. Oh wait, I forgot – it’s impossible!

    Anyway, I’m happy you managed to work your trouble into the story in such an awesome way. Haven’t read a legacy where the family had to move houses because of an earthquake before! Really nice 🙂

    Like

  2. Damn i know how that feels my fine lines set (justins house in perth) got corrupted and i had to rebuld the whole thing from picture reference. Now i religiously pack up all my houses when i make them.

    Poor Kass tho her family home, just gone. 😦

    Liked by 1 person

Commenters rock! Write on.

