1.12: Girls Day

Warning: This post contains content that may not be appropriate for younger readers. The chapter contains adult conversations and woohoo references. Consider the rating PG-13. 

I drove home after my morning at my grandparents. Ayesha asked if I wanted to go shopping at the mall with her. I was totally up for a girls day. Gage wasn’t calling me back. My dad may have given me a possible disease. Davis was a baseball fanatic that suddenly ignored his dates when the game was on. I was done with guys… for now. I had already showered at Nonna’s so I quickly changed into a black fringe dress, my dressy sandals, and some fun jewelry. I always felt better when I dressed up.

Screenshot-383

I drove over to the Sun Valley Mall. I met Ayesha in front of the fountains.

Screenshot-384

She pulled me into a quick hug.

“Kass, that dress is awesome!” she stepped back to admire me.

I did a little girlish twirl.

“Isn’t it fabulous? I got it when I vacationed on Twikkii Island last summer with my family. I haven’t worn it much, but I love the deerskin feel. It’s so soft,”  I smiled. “I’m surprised you aren’t wearing anything cute.”

“Drr! My uber-modest parents insist I look like this,” Ayesha rolled her eyes. “But you… I recognized the Native design. It’s beautiful. You look so fine! You’re going to make all the boys want you!”

Screenshot-387

“Oh shush!” I said looking away.

Ayesha leaned her head to the side. “Oh and your be-hind looks great in it too!”

“Stop it!” I playfully swatted at my friend. “I’m not trying to make any boys look at me.”

“Not even Davis?” Ayesha teased.

“Davis was a letdown,” I sighed and proceeded to quickly explain my dinner with him and how he was living with my grandparents and how everything was fine until baseball came on.

“Oh honey! Is that all?” Ayesha’s eyes grew wide.

“Is that all?” I made a face. “I don’t like being ignored.”

“Yeah, but if that’s his only flaw then he’s still pretty much a keeper,” Ayesha replied. “There’s a lot worse things he could’ve done or said. He’s a man. Sports are in their DNA. You just gotta learn to go with the flow and understand as a man, he needs baseball to survive, but if you show up back at your grandparents wearing that sexy thing, I’m sure he’ll unglue his eyes from the tv. Besides you like football. You each have your vices.”

“Well, I don’t know. I’m probably sleeping at home tonight,” I shrugged. “Besides, I think he’s out tonight. I heard my Nonna say he’s working at the coffee shop this evening.”

“Perfect!” Ayesha exclaimed. “We’ll stop by after we’re done shopping.”

Screenshot-386

“No!” I burst out, jumping back a step. “We can’t… I mean… I don’t know. I was just really disappointed that he ignored me.”

“Oh come on. Don’t be a baby. You’re a big girl now, Kass, and you need to get in the woman’s game.”

“I don’t think I want to play the game,” I sighed.

“Come on. It’s fun, and you’ll have him eating out of the palm of your hand soon,” Ayesha assured me. “You just show up tonight like that looking super hot and order a drink from a different barista. Make sure he sees you, but don’t go talk to him first. Let him come to you. And when he does, don’t mention last night. It’s early on in the relationship. Give him a freebie slide. Flirt a little, but not too much. Touch his arm casually. Lean in a little closer and pretend you’re having trouble hearing because of the noise. Ask him to dance maybe even. I’ll come up with some excuse to cut out early and you’ll have the evening to yourselves and you can call me if it totally flops, but it won’t… not with you looking like that. It can’t. It’s foolproof.”

“Wow!” I said sarcastically. “Sounds complicated.”

“It’s really not once you learn to tap into your womanly wiles,” Ayesha linked arms with me.

Screenshot-389

We headed inside and stopped in the art gallery first. They had some very fine but expensive pieces.

Screenshot-392

The zebra-striped flamingo had me puzzling though, especially for five-hundred and fifty simoleons.

“You should get it,” Ayesha teased. “For your dorm room.”

“Riight…”

“Yes, it would be perfect. Zebras represent balance, harmony, and unity which is good for your college dorm room. Flamingos symbolize community and cooperation.”

“Okaaay, Ms. Psychoanalyze…”

“Yeah, just the other night I had a dream about zebras and flamingos.”

“Really?”

“Yeah, I was woo-hooing with this awesome zebra-trainer from the circus on the lawn in front of his house and we were surrounded by pink lawn flamingos. I was wearing zebra-striped lingerie and he leaned over and as he was nibbling on my ear he was whispering all seductively to me that he enjoyed channeling my inner wild animal.”

“Oh llamas!! I don’t want to hear this…”

Screenshot-393

“So I was telling Erik we should try it sometime. I was thinking on Mrs. Longfellow’s lawn because she collects so many of those pink plastic flamingos that we’d have plenty of privacy,” Ayesha said nonchalantly, as she stretched and cracked her knuckles.

“Oh!” I gasped, covering my face. “I think I just threw up in my mouth a little.”

“Gotcha!” Ayesha grinned evilly. “I did have the dream but I haven’t talked to Erik about it.”

“Oh my llamas! I will never be able to think about flamingos ever again without playing out that scenario… Seriously, Ayesha! What is wrong with you? And is there something else you want to tell me? About you and Erik?”

“Seriously Kass, relax,” Ayesha put her arm around me. “No Erik and I aren’t woo-hooing. How could we be? He’s been away in Sim City at university this whole past year.”

“I don’t know,” I said loudly, and then lowered my voice as I realized we had drawn the attention of another art gallery patron. I guided Ayesha out of the store before continuing, “I was wondering when you said you and Erik were talking about… and possibly doing… something… like on… the lawn… and well… you know…”

“Sex, it’s okay, Kass,” Ayesha laughed. “You can say it. You don’t have to be such a prune.”

“A prune?” I wrinkled my nose. “I think the correct term is prude.”

“Yeah whatever,” Ayesha rolled her eyes. “You can say the correct term. Sex. S-E-X. Right. Come on say it with me.”

I flushed hotly. “I do not need to say it.”

“It… it is sex…  Come on Kass… say sex. I want to hear you say it.”

“Stop it, Ayesha. This is ridiculous.”

“What that you’re a cherry who can’t even say the word ‘sex’ because she’s a prune?”

“PRUDE!” I shouted and ducked into the ladies bathroom before I died of embarrassment. “Ayesha, why do you have to be such a jerk?”

“A jerk?” Ayesha quirked a brow. “I’m sorry, Kass, but I think you are seriously wound and need some help. How do you expect to get Davis if you can’t even say the word ‘sex?’ I mean, he is an older guy, right? Probably more experienced?”

“Okay, stop!” I held up my hand. “I don’t want to think about that. I don’t want to think about sex… there I said it… are you happy?”

“Yes,” Ayesha smirked. “And I’ll drop the subject. I just think you need to come to terms with that word.”

“I will,” I said hastily. “In my own time and without your gross input…”

We stepped out of the bathroom and back into the art gallery.

“….or lawn flamingos!” Ayesha laughed.

“Gah!” I punched her arm. “Are we okay to walk around out here? You’re not going to like…”

“What? Scream woohoo from the rooftops? Maybe!” Ayesha grinned deviously, but seeing my frown, she quickly added, “It’s okay, Kass. We’re both cherries. We’re both newbies. Don’t worry. I haven’t left you behind in the dust. I’m just a little… curious. Probably because I have older, uber conservative prudish parents who look like prunes when they get it on.”

“Okay! Enough with that visual please…” I begged.

“… and a sister who got pregnant at seventeen. I can’t help it. I wonder. I’m deprived and my lady parts aren’t getting any younger.”

“Oh llamas, Ayesha, you’re nineteen, you have time,” I said.

Screenshot-396

“Sure I do, but I can’t help it and wonder,” Ayesha said seriously. “Erik and I have talked about what it would be like… this summer and all with him being back.”

“I don’t need to know details,” I said, brushing some invisible mark off my dress.

“Yeah, but I don’t have anyone to talk to. I hardly talk to my sister anymore with her being out of the house and my parents certainly aren’t a helpful resource,” Ayesha sighed.

“I don’t think I’m very helpful either,” I sighed. “You might be better off just keeping those things in your head.”

Screenshot-397

“But then I’m like that statue over there. I feel like if I’m not talking about it, it’s like cutting off my arm or something,” Ayesha waved her arms toward a statue.  “And obviously she’s got something going on if she’s half-naked in the gallery, but she can’t do anything about it because she’s like made of stone. I don’t want to turn to stone, Kass.”

“Ayesha, oh my llamas! You won’t turn to stone if you don’t woohoo…” I replied. “Maybe Erik isn’t the one either. Have you thought about that? You can’t just go around doing things without it affecting you… or other people… like Erik.”

I didn’t add ‘and me.’ What am I going to do if I’m the only one of my friends holding out? Is it really that bad here on the outside? Woohoo… sex… isn’t the end all, be all in life. 

We wandered through more shops. I stopped in one of my favorite bath and body supply stores. My jaw dropped open when I saw the price of one the perfumes I’d been wanting.

Screenshot-401

“Oh my! SALE!” I shrieked giddily.

“Oh you should totally buy it. That’ll draw the man of your dreams,” Ayesha smirked.

“Would you stop!?” I snipped. “Seriously, all you can think about is woo-hoo!”

“Sorry, Kass, I didn’t realize I was making you that uncomfortable,” Ayesha said somberly.

“Oh yeah, and you didn’t notice before now,” I replied sarcastically.

“Maybe,” she smirked. “But it’s kinda fun getting a rise out of you.”

“Gah! I give up! You’re impossible,” I threw up my hands in the air.

I didn’t buy the perfume.

Screenshot-409

Screenshot-411

Screenshot-415

We wandered through a bookstore, stopping to read in their large comfy chairs.

Screenshot-450

I don’t know how but Ayesha talked me into heading to the Java Jolt. I was nervous about seeing Davis again, but Ayesha assured me it’d be fine. I should forgive him. I breathed an internal sigh of relief when I didn’t see Davis… or Gage. 

Screenshot-447

Ayesha looked around impatiently while the barista finished my drink.

“What’s wrong?” I asked.

“I’m just looking for that hottie guy of yours,” Ayesha said, almost sounding annoyed. “I thought you said he’d be working tonight.”

“Sheesh Ayesha, he isn’t mine you know?” I said, feeling amused.

“Who isn’t yours?” a voice came from behind us.

Davis! my heart thudded.

Screenshot-483

“Ope, that’s my cue,” Ayesha said with a grin, and leaned into whisper, “I’ll be over there.”

I braced myself and turned around, trying a tight smile.

“Hi Kassiopeia,” Davis smiled genuinely. “I’m glad you stopped by tonight.”

“Oh uh… yeah… hi Davis,” I said awkwardly.

Screenshot-454

“Please let me explain and apologize for last night,” Davis said, waving his arms.

“You don’t have to do that,” I said.

Screenshot-459

“No, I want to… I hope you didn’t feel uncomfortable,” Davis inquired sincerely.

“Oh… uh… not at all,” I lied, and then kicked myself. Be honest with him, Kass, you like him. 

“I thought I did… I mean… made you uncomfortable… it was obvious that I wasn’t… I mean… I didn’t pay any attention to you and I feel like a jerk,” Davis replied. “I mean, you weren’t very enthusiastic, and then I didn’t even walk you home…”

“You mean across the pool deck?” I smiled shyly.

Screenshot-453

“Listen, Kass, I’m so sorry. I should’ve found something we both liked. I didn’t even think. My last girlfriend didn’t like baseball either, or sports really, and she didn’t really get that part of me. I don’t want to do that to you.”

“Your last girlfriend?” I repeated, feeling hopeful.

“Yes, she didn’t understand why I liked baseball, but I never really tried to include her in that, so last night when you were over, I thought, Hey, this is a cool girl. She said she liked football, so she’s gotta like baseball, right? And I’m sorry. I didn’t treat you right,” Davis explained.

I didn’t really care about that.

“But your last girlfriend… I mean… you included that in a sentence with me so does that mean…” I trailed off, my heart in my throat.

Screenshot-463

Davis stepped in closer to me with a soft smile on his face. “Yessss, Kass, I want you to be my girlfriend? Will you be my girlfriend?”

“Yes,” I managed to squeak out.

“Alright, well the first thing my girl needs is a drink, and then can I give you a ride home?”

“I’d like that.”

“I know it’s kinda late and you have a friend here and I don’t want to be rude or take up your entire evening…”

“Davis?” I interrupted, taking his hand. “It’s okay. She understands.”

I waved to Ayesha across the coffee shop, she gave me a knowing look, and waved goodnight before stepping out the front door.

“So I can give you a ride home?” he asked, in an almost cutesy way that made my heart melt.

“Yes, Davis, you can give me a ride home.”

Chapter 13 Coming Soon! 

  • How will things be now that Davis and Kass are “officially” a couple? 
  • What will Kass do about Gage?
  • Will Kass figure out her thoughts about woo-hoo and will Ayesha calm down about it or will things progress further between her and her boyfriend, Erik? 

Author Changes:

  • Kass’s comment about Ayesha’s outfit
  • Ayesha’s comment about her uber-modest parents
  • Ayesha’s comment about Kass liking football
  • Photo size was edited
  • Links were repaired

Story Extras: 

  1. The Sun Valley Mall is actually a custom-content building from The Sims Resource – City Towers by PedDda.
  2. Twikkii Island was a tropical island neighborhood in Sims 2: Bon Voyage available as a vacation destination. In my Simworld, Twikkii Island off the western coast of the Sim Nation in Paradisim (based off Hawaii). Twikkii Island is one of the tiny islands located in the Simistral Ocean.
  3. SimNatives are indigenous peoples of the planet of Simterran. In my Simworld, many of my Simworld early SimNatives were used as slave or cheap labor in the early building days of the Sim Nation. They have a rich and beautiful culture that varies from tribe to tribe. Their ancestors are considered to be highly advanced, though much of the technology was lost in the urbanization of the land by non-SimNatives and the rise of universalism(the forced conversion of one people group to the religion of a different people group). SimNatives are known for living simply off the land, colorful artwork, and intricate clothing designs.
  4. Ayesha’s boyfriend, Erik is based off the Sims 2: University, Erik Swain. Like his profile reads, Erik just finished his freshman year at Sim State University in Sim City. He is majoring in art.
  5. In The Sims 3, there is no Mrs. Longfellow. However, there is a Betty Buttercup in The Sims 2 for console. As stated in her profile, Betty is in love with her roommate, Nelson Longfellow. She is heir to an “inexplicably large pink flamingo fortune.” In my Simworld, she married Nelson and they traveled through the Simiribbean Islands with their good friend, Hector Fromagero. After Betty’s affair with Hector, Betty and Nelson moved to Sunset Valley to repair their marriage. Nelson has died of old age.
8 thoughts on “1.12: Girls Day”

  1. Okay I’m finally stopping to be a bad person and starting to actually comment. And you can consider that “like” a like for the entire story so far because I’ve been liking it, but from the shadows (that sounds evil). Anyway, I really like your world and all the details in it, and the characters feel very human to me. In fact, everything about this story feels very human and natural, like taking a part in a mostly normal life. It’s very cosy and comfortable so far, but with this sense of upcoming problems and more serious drama that keeps me intrigued. The natural, nicely flowing writing really supports that too.

    I also like how sometimes the story is just told with pictures. I’d actually prefer the pics to be a bit bigger, really, especially in those scenes. But I can always click on the pics to enlarge them of course.

    And I really like Kass as a character. I can identify with her a lot, especially here where Ayesha kept talking about sex and Kass was being all uncomfortable. 😀 There are also these glimpses of Kass’s darker side, or at least hints that she might have some issues, which is interesting. And the whole EXCES plotline is intriguing too and hints at future tragedies, which I also like.

    So yeah, I’m really liking this story! It makes me smile a lot.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I have to disagree with Ayesha on the way that Davis acted on their first date simply because it was a first date. He should have been showering her with attention instead he ignored her on their first date. If he does that on the first date what will he be doing after 10. I still think she is in love with Gage so none of this matters anyways.

    I had to laugh about the sex conversation between Kass and Ayesha. I’ll never look at those flamingos in game the same way either LOL

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I think Davis wasn’t really prepared for the “Actual” date. It was a surprise date at his apartment at her grandparents. I think maybe he needed more prep time or it’s been awhile or something. Haha. I think Kass needs to be willing to give him another chance, but Davis needs to try harder too.
      I’m glad you liked the girls day. 😉

      Like

Commenters rock! Write on.

