1.3: The Barista

I managed to get a little sleep after my obnoxious wake-up call. I rolled over and looked at the clock and realized it was nearly 10:30. Holy llamas! I was supposed to meet my dad at 11. I hopped out of bed, brushed my teeth and hair, fixed my makeup and then struggled with what to wear.

Screenshot-745

I wanted to impress my father like a look at me! I turned out okay without you. I liked this outfit, but then I remembered I wore it to graduation yesterday. I didn’t want Dad to think I didn’t have any other clothes.

Screenshot-740

I put on something more casual and comfy. This says I don’t take myself seriously enough. I’m an adult now, I chided myself.

Screenshot-746

I finally settled on my blue leather jacket, black dress slacks, a black-and-white floral blouse, and high teal heels. Taller is better. I look confident and cool.

Screenshot-188

Mamma was sitting at the kitchen table drinking her coffee when I walked downstairs. I tried to sneak out the front door, but she called to me.

“Hey Kassio, what are you up to today?”

“Oh nothing much, Mamma,” I stopped and pretended to look at myself in the mirror.

“You’re all dressed up?” Mamma said, raising her eyebrows. “Where are you headed?”

“Out,” I said, nonchalantly.

I walked into the bathroom for the umpteenth time. I didn’t want her knowing about Dad. I didn’t want to upset her. I really hoped she wouldn’t question me anymore.

Screenshot-189

She did. She was waiting for me after I stepped out of the bathroom.

“I’m not blind, Kassiopeia,” she shrugged her shoulders. “I know what it’s like to want to impress someone… and to have those… feelings…”

“Oh Mamma!” I rolled my eyes. She thought I was seeing a boy.

“It’s just so nice,” Mamma said, grinning, apparently oblivious to my reaction. “When they pay attention to you…”

Yeah because Dad is doing such a great job of doing that for his daughters!

“Mamma, I’m just going out for a little bit. I felt like dressing up,” I added.

Screenshot-190

“Well, okay,” she hugged me, looking disappointed.

I lingered in her arms a minute, so grateful for at least one loving parent.

“Mamma, I love you, you know that right?” I asked.

“Of course, my gattina. I love you too,” Mamma replied.

Screenshot-191

“If you want to talk about it, I’m here for you,” Mamma said as I pulled back.

“You too, Mamma,” I said mischievously, my eyes twinkling.

Screenshot-201

Mamma let me borrow the family car. I didn’t want to be late for dad and I was afraid I was going to be so I sped up a little… only five over though. I quickly drove up the hill to Jade’s Java Jolt.

Screenshot-202

I arrived at 11:02. Fairly respectable. Dad called almost the minute I walked in the door. I didn’t even know he had my number. He told me he was going to be late. Figures.

“Yeah whatever,” I said as I hung up.

Screenshot-230

I didn’t want to wait for him to get my coffee so I wandered over to the counter. My stomach rumbled. The barista was grinning at me oddly as I approached.

“Hi, welcome to Jade’s Java Jolt. What can I get you?” he asked, with a sweet Southern accent.

“You must be new,” I said. “I haven’t seen you here before.”

“Yeah, I just started last Thursday. Davis Lamar,” he shook my hand.  “My granny, Jade owns this place.”

“Oh cool,” was all I could manage to say. His grip was firm and warm.

“And your name?” he asked smoothly.

“Oh yes, I have a name… of course…” I stammered. Oh wow! I must sound like an idiot. Why was I getting so flustered?

“Um… Kass Fullbright,” I tried to sound normal.

“Nice to meet you Kass. Is that short for Cassidy? Or Cassandra?”

“No, actually Kassiopeia. My mom had an obsession with galaxies and all things outer space related.”

“Interesting. I was named for Davis Jefferies, the general from the Second Xeno War. He was the one who led the troops on the first invasion of the Xenosi home planet.”

“Yeah, I remember him from history class. He was determined to put an end to the war after the attack on the Great Southern Air Force base.”

“Grandma’s from down south… Looey-sim-aah-nah.”

That explains his smooth Southern drawl.

“Really? How cool? I’m moving to Louisimana in the fall. I’m heading to Edgewater Global Business College,” I explained.

“Oh, I’m an alumnus. I just finished out my degree and decided to move here.”

“That’s awesome!” I’m hopeless. I sound like a fan girl. “I mean, cool, right? Uh… what’d you major in?”

“Biology.”

Somehow that made him more attractive.

“I haven’t decided on a major yet, but I was thinking business law maybe or perhaps small business management.”

“I think you’ll like Edgewater. They’ve got a great business program with a small town feel, but still plenty to do.”

“Yeah, I’m looking forward to going to jazz concerts in New Simoleans on weekends if I can swing it. So why’d you move here?”

“Granny moved out here because of her bad joints. The humidity was killing her in Louisimana. She offered me a job in the shop for the summer if I wanted and I decided to take it. And now I’m really glad I did.”

I blushed. Is he flirting?

“It’s not often I see a breathtakingly beautiful woman walk through that door,” he smiled charmingly.

Oh yeah, he’s flirting. “Well… uh… thank you…”

Screenshot-231

“So I don’t talk your ear off, what would you like from the menu?” he asked.

Are you on the menu? I squealed internally, but refrained from exploding exuberantly on the attractive barista.

“I’ll have that one,” I pointed down at the display case.

“Which one?” he was staring into my eyes.

“Uh… the cheese danish.”

“Good choice. Anything to drink?”

“My usual… oh, but you don’t know what that is… a cinnamon latte.”

Screenshot-232

“Coming right up.” He got right to work. “So you like jazz music?”

“Yes, why?”

“You said something about being excited about New Simoleans jazz concerts. Do you play any instruments?”

“Oh, yeah, I play a little. Piano mostly. But also I’m learning Simspanian guitar. I do like jazz styles though.  Actually, growing up I’d listen to jazz records with my grandfather and dance in his basement.” Wow! Kass! Tell him your whole life story while you’re at it! 

Screenshot-233

“Sounds like fun. Old school… I like it. There’s a little jazz fest here on Tuesday night and half-price drinks after seven if you’d like to swing by. I think I can take a few minutes to give you a whirl on the dance floor.”

“Uh… oh… wow!” I stammered again.

“Super casual. Don’t feel like you have to but I think you might enjoy it.”

“I’d love to,” I smiled.

Screenshot-234

“Great, here’s your latte. I’ll see you then, if not before…since you have a usual, I figure you might be in tomorrow too,” he winked at me.

Screenshot-235

I must’ve stood there like an idiot grinning because after a few seconds, he added, “Got another customer.”

“Oh!” I exclaimed, feeling the heat rush to my cheeks. “Thanks. I’ll see ya.”

I stepped away from the counter, glad my back was turned to Davis because I’m sure my face was several shades of red. Wow! He’s just… wow! I mentally kicked myself. I was going to have to do better than that if I was going to keep him interested. Now I was really glad I had taken my time on my appearance. But oh! He’s gorgeous! 

Chapter Four Coming Soon! 

  • Will Kass encounter Davis again?
  • What will her dad say when he finally shows up? 

Author Changes: What’s different?

  • In Part 2, I redesigned the world of the Sims and gave the countries Simlish names. Spanish guitar was changed to Simspani guitar.
  • A “Second” was added to the Xeno War reference to Davis Jefferies.
  • Links were fixed.

Story Notes:

    1. Davis Lamar is a premade townie in Sunset Valley. I modified him for the purposes of the story and made him a young adult. His grandma, Jade owns the coffee shop.
    2. Davis Jefferies was a general from Louisimana. After the Xenosi (aliens) attacked the Great Southern Air Force Base, Davis led an invasion of the Xenosi home planet. Although none of his troops ever returned, Davis’ attack is considered generally successful as it severely crippled the Xenosi military factories, leading to the current cold war.
    3. The Xenosi are aliens who live on the nearby planet Xenosa. In the past, they fought wars with the Sims, and are generally thought to be hostile. Currently, the war between the Sims and the Xenosi are at a quasi-peaceful standstill – a cold war state. Read more about Military and War and Aliens and Supernaturals.
9 thoughts on “1.3: The Barista”

Commenters rock! Write on.

